Three newcomers in national 14-man squad
-Azeemul Haniff gets recall after two years
Stabroek News
December 23, 2006

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

The national cricket selectors have named three newcomers in the 14-man squad to contest the first three rounds of next year's regional season, while a former West Indies' 'A' team player gets a recall after two years.

The newcomers are left-arm spinner Verasammy Permaul, batsman Royston Crandon and fast bowler Jeremy Gordon and the former West Indies' 'A' team player is Azeemul Haniff who also toured Kenya in 2000 with the West Indies' senior team but did not play.

The 29-year-old Haniff, who made his first-class debut in 1997 against Jamaica, last played for Guyana against Jamaica in 2004 at Sabina Park scoring 23 in the Guyana second innings.

He returns to the team averaging 28.38 after 46 first-class matches, during which he has scored 2157 runs with a highest score of 235 made against Bangladesh 'A' in 2002 at Bourda.

The left-arm spinner Permaul who was named the best bowler at this year's TCL U-19 cricket competition in which he bagged 31 wickets probably got the nod at the expense of another left-arm spinner, 34-year-old Neil Mc Garrell.

Gordon, who along with Reon King and Esaun Crandon will comprise the fast bowling attack beat out Rayon ~Gummy" Griffith and Essequibo's Trevon Garraway to clinch the third pacer slot.

Narsingh Deonarine was named captain while Travis Dowlin will perform duties as deputy.

The selectors have retained Imran Jafferally as the other specialist spinner in the squad.

The other players named include Krishna Arjune, Assad Fudadin, Deon Ferrier, Derwin Christian, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Reon King and Esaun Crandon.

Albert Smith was named coach along with Carl Moore, manager.

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) has also identified eight standbys from the 27 players initially on the shortlist.

Those players short-listed include Homchand Pooran, Leon Johnson, Steven Jacobs, Gajanand Singh, Maxwell Georgeson, Garraway, Griffith and Krishna Deosarran.