Guyana to host Caribbean, Americas Darts Cups
Stabroek News
July 14, 2004

Related Links: Articles on Darts
Letters Menu Archival Menu

Guyana won the bid to host the Caribbean and Americas Cups Darts Championships when the Caribbean Darts Organisation (CDO) held its Bi-Annual Meeting at the Bonaventure Holiday Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale, Florida on July 5.

At the same meeting, Guyana Darts Association (GDA) President Grantley Culbard was elected to serve as the new vice-president of the CDO.

According to a GDA release, Guyana won the bids to host the 16th Caribbean Darts Championships as well as the 3rd Americas darts Championships. Guyana's bid was successfully presented by Culbard.

Guyana secured six of the 14 votes, while Barbados got five and Brazil three.

Trevor Lloyd of the Cayman Islands is the CDO's president, while the Bahamas' Michael Spicer and the Cayman Islands' Alan Hall are the general-secretary and treasurer respectively.

Meanwhile, the Guyana team which participated in the Americas Cup at the Bonaventure Holiday Resort returned home on Saturday minus the `Bacon'.

The team which comprised Culbard, Norman Madhoo, Darren Jhagroo, Jean Singh and Jean DeSouza did not participate in the Caribbean Cup which was staged simultaneously with the Americas Cup.

According to the GDA release, Guyana did not have a full complement of 14 players (eight men and six women) to contest the Caribbean Cup. This, according to the release, was because most of its best players were not granted US visas by the American Embassy here in Guyana.

The locals were forced to co-opt the services of Florida-based Guyanese Jhagroo, who along with Canada's John Part won the `Luck of the Draw' doubles competition that preceded the two championships. In the Americas Cup, which was won by the USA, Trinidad-based Guyanese Vivekanand Dyal, who also captained the Trinidad team, placed second in the men's singles. He was beaten by John Kuezynski (USA).

In the points per dart averages, Guyana's best performers were Madhoo (men's) and DeSouza (women's). Madhoo placed eighth with a 24.18 average, while DeSouza scored a 19.26 average for fifth place. The Caribbean Cup was won by Florida with 220 points. The Bahamas was second with 150 points, while Barbados placed third with 137 points.