Avril Crawford is new teachers union president
Stabroek News
May 22, 2004

Related Links: Articles on teachers
Letters Menu Archival Menu

The Guyana Teachers' Union (GTU) has a new executive committee with its former General Secretary, Avril Crawford being elected to the top post as President, a GTU release said.

Mrs Crawford who served the GTU as its General Secretary for the past two terms, was elected unanimously to the position left vacant by the sudden demise of its past president Sydney Murdock.

She is the third female to hold that post. The others were Olga Byrne who served from 1968 to 1970 and Jean Persico who served from 1980 to 1986.

Crawford was elected unopposed in her absence during the GTU 120th Annual Delegates' Conference held at the GTU Hall in New Amsterdam, Berbice from April 13 to April 16. Crawford was out of the country on duty until recently and has accepted the post.

The other executive members are First Vice-President, Philip Roberts; Second Vice-President, Winifred Haywood; Immediate Past President, Lancelot Baptiste; Deputy General Secretary (currently acting General Secretary) Jennifer Cumberbatch; Treasurer, Roger Small; Regional Vice-President for Berbice, Colin Bynoe; Regional Vice-President for Demerara, Colwyn King and Regional Vice-President for Essequibo, Daonarine.