Theatre Arts holds awards ceremony
'Berbice Thunder' storms to two wins
Stabroek News
April 29, 2004

Related Links: Articles on theatre
Letters Menu Archival Menu

In celebration of its eighteenth anniversary, Theatre Arts Awards on Monday evening held its prize-giving ceremony at the National Cultural Centre and "Berbice Thunder" claimed two top prizes.

Among the many awardees Richard Narine was selected Best Actor, while the Best Actress award went to Kim Lucas. Lucas was chosen for her performance in "Mr. Powell's Mistress" and Narine for his part in the play "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest", from 2003.

Ron Robinson won the Best Director prize. He was nominated for Link Show 2002 and 2003.

The other awards went to Jane Joseph who was presented with prizes two times for her piece "Berbice Thunder". Joseph won Best Guyanese Play and Best Children's Production. For the Best Variety Show category, Link Show was given the award while the best male singer award went to David Dewar from the Woodside Choir with "Let The Bells Ring." Sandrene Abrams, also from the same group, won best female singer for 2003.

Nrityageet (2002) received an award for the best set and Best Dance production 2003. Best costumes prize went to Colour of La Dance. Woodside Choir again with "Let the Bells Ring" received the award for the best Musical Production.
Jane Joseph (right) from the Sapodilla Learning Centre in Hopetown, Berbice being presented with her prize by Marilyn Cox for Best Guyanese Play.

Additionally, Travis Chase was awarded best supporting actor for his performance in the play "Half Past Late" from 2003, while Sheron Taylor who was nominated two times for best supporting actress received a trophy for her performance in 'Somebody Gon Horn You' from 2003.

Taylor was also nominated for her performance in 'Is We Big People'. The Best Production award went to "One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest".

The Theatre Arts Awards (TAA) was founded in March 1989 and is a non-profit organisation, aimed at promoting progress and appreciation and to encourage excellence in the area of arts from both the performers and the audience.