Twelve countries register bid committees for Cricket World Cup
Stabroek News
December 18, 2003

Related Links: Articles on World Cup 2007
Letters Menu Archival Menu

ICC Cricket World Cup West Indies (WI) 2007 Inc. has registered 12 official bid committees for the Host Venue Selection Tender which will determine the countries to host matches in the cricket world cup in 2007.

The 12 bid committees have been authorised by the recognised cricket association and Government of each country and includes the following territories: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda,the Cayman Islands, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St.Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, and the USA.

The chairpersons of the registered bid committees are Chris de Caires of Barbados, the Hon. Molwyn Joseph of Antigua & Barbuda, Reginald Pearman of Bermuda, Deborah Ebanks of the Cayman Islands; for Grenada Roy O'Neale, Gail Teixeira in Guyana, Dr. Wayne Reid in Jamaica, Charles Wilkin for St. Kitts-Nevis; the Hon. Mario Michel for St. Lucia, Maurice Edwards for St. Vincent & the Grenadines, the Hon. Roger Boynes for Trinidad & Tobago, and Lance Gibbs for the USA.

Donald Lockerbie, Venue Development Director of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 stated: "For transparency purposes, we are enclosing the Bid Committee directory that lists all 12 countries registered, as well as listing the chairperson and two directors as the current leadership of each Bid Committee."

The Bid Book, which will contain the detail requirements for hosting matches in 2007, will be distributed on February 19, 2004 which will signal the start of the bid process.