GCB name 22-member squad for Regional Carib Cup
Stabroek News
December 6, 2003

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

The Guyana Cricket Board yesterday named a 22-member squad to commence preparation for possible selection to represent Guyana in next year's Carib Cup Regional Cricket Tournament which gets underway on January 9.

According to a GCB release, the squad includes a number of under-23 players who are likely to be selected to represent the West Indies `B' team in the said tournament.

Guyana will begin her participation in the 2004 tournament with a match against Barbados in Barbados.

From Barbados, the locals will travel to Jamaica then Dominica, before returning home for their last four preliminary matches.

The 22 players named are; Neil McGarrel (captain), Mahendra Nagamootoo (vice-captain), Travis Dowlin, Lennox Cush, Hemchand Pooran, Troy Cornelius, Hemnarine Harrinarine, Zaheer Mohammed, Tyrel Tull, Damodar Dasrat, Narsingh Deonarine, Krishna Arjune, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Azeemul Haniff, Ryan Ramdass, Trevon Garraway, Eion Katchy, Vishal Nagamootoo, Reon Griffith, Rayon Thomas, Eusan Crandon and Andre Percival.

The GCB release noted that West Indies players Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan who are currently in South Africa with the West Indies team, will be considered for selection if they are available.

The players named are asked to assemble at the National Park at 6am on Monday to commence fitness training.

Out of town players are asked to report to the GCB's Hostel tomorrow.