DCC players urged to give of their best
… Lallchand Persaud cops Cricketer of the Year award By Leeron Brumell
Guyana Chronicle
December 22, 2003

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

‘NEVER under estimate the value of wisdom and knowledge and remember to employ them always,” were the words of encouragement shared by former Guyana and West Indies cricketer Roger Harper at the third annual cricket awards presentation ceremony of the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC).

Harper delivering the feature address at the club’s pavilion on Saturday night challenged the young players to do their best on and off the field.

He gave them three ‘watch words’ as their focus for future development.

“Discipline, Work Ethics and Knowledge. They require application and dedication and it makes us feel proud.”

Harper said that discipline is a pre-requisite for success and it means doing what has to be done and when it has to be done.

The former Guyana captain also urged the captains to stamp out sledging on the field, since they must take a firm stance against it.

Then he explained that Work Ethics requires giving 100 percent of yourself and the necessary work must be put in to achieve success and to sharpen skills.

Harper who lives a stone’s throw from the DCC ground urged the players to learn the history of the game, the techniques and the developments that cricket has made and is continuing to make and not to neglect advice from those before them.
A past player of the club, Harper also said that the grass roots standard of the game is diminishing.

“The standard had decline a bit and this should not be since it is the base of the sport.

The standard of the game is the responsibility of the associations, boards and clubs. They need to raise the standard at the base and it must be made the bedrock of club cricket, because if it is low, then we will produce low quality cricketers.”

The former West Indies coach said this is evident in the West Indies team because they are inconsistent.

Making opening remarks, president of the club Kirk Douglas said cricketers will need to be aware of the technologies employed in the game.

“Technology and globalisation will change the nature of the sport,” he said while referring to the MTN technology.

“The technology now allows you to study the strengths and weaknesses of your opponents and this is where the youngsters will need to use it to play more cricket and develop their skills.”

He also urged the players to inculcate discipline, hard work and team spirit for future successes.

Meanwhile, at the ceremony Lallchand Persaud was named cricketer of the year.

Persaud had a very good year having picked up one five-wicket haul and making a century in the first division competition for the year.

He was also the first bowler to take a hat-trick in the Carib Beer first division final against Malteenoes Sports Club and also managed to score a century as well, while being called to the senior cricket trials.

Persaud was also presented with a bat from P & P Insurance Brokers and also a special award from Harper.

The most Improved cricketer of the year was Dwayne Perriera, having scored the only century in the second division version of the game.

Antonio Atwell also had an excellent year having been among those to pick up five-wicket and ten-wicket hauls, scoring centuries in both the first and second division games. He was also named the best second division bowler.

Linden Lyght also had a few three-wicket hauls and also a ten-wicket haul in the second division tournaments.

Andre Legall was presented with the President’s Award for being a dedicated and long serving cricketer, Sherwin Smith the most dedicated club member and Orin Bailey for the achievement of becoming junior national coach.

Bailey was also named the best second division batsman.

Others that picked up awards were Gladwyn Brandis, Trevor Simpson, Gavin Nedd, Dennis Squires and Deonarine Baksh in the first division.

Christopher Barnwell was the best Under-19 batsman and Jermaine Horatio the best bowler, with Keston Hardcourt the best Under-15 batsman and Yannick Leonard the best bowler.

Robert ‘Pacer’ Adonis chaired the ceremony.