NCERD awards 28 for outstanding performance By Michel Outridge
Guyana Chronicle
December 6, 2003

Related Links: Articles on academic achievement
Letters Menu Archival Menu

Some 28 students yesterday received awards for their outstanding achievement under the Secondary School Reform Project, Ministry of Education, during their 6th Annual Awards Ceremony at the National Centre for Educational Resource Development (NCERD) at Kingston.

The packed auditorium was graced with many officials from the Ministry of Education, students of various secondary schools, awardees and parents.

Present at the head table was Keiza Gordon, awardee of Uitvlugt Secondary School, Melcita Bovell, Senior Education Officer (Mathematics & Science), Kalowti Singh, Head mistress of Annandale Secondary School and Dr. Kenneth Hunte, Director of Secondary School Reform Project (SSRP).

The 2003 NTFE top five performers overall are Rajendra Ramgobin of Queen's College, Raj Persaud of Queen's College, Talia Mohamed of Queen's College, Linbert Lewis of President's College and Girish Rambaran, also of Queen's College.

The top five performers by subject for English are Raj Persaud, Amrita Singh, Robeena Sookhan, Girish Rambaran all of Queen's College and Farnaz Habeeb of Abram Zuil Secondary.

Mathematics - Rajendra Ramgobin, Ravi Monilal, Danielle Alleyne, Christina Gonsalves and Kievina Haynes all of Queen's College.

Science - Michelle Davis of President's College, Rovindra Singh of Berbice High, Farnaz Habeeb of Abram Zuil Secondary, vadewattie Ramnarine of Anna Regina Multilateral and Rephanna Persaud of Abram Zuil Secondary.

Social Studies - Mellisa Layne, Seema Rahim, Taila Mohamed, Amrita Singh and Raj Prsaud all of Queen's College.

President's College received the prize of $25,000 for the school with the highest percentage of students gaining 50% or more at NFTE, 2003.

For the National Grade Nine Poetry - Writing Competition, 2003 five students from were presented trophies for their outstanding performance.

They are Anassa Codett of Richard Ishmael Secondary, Georgetown, Sade Tobin of Cotton Field Secondary, Region Two, Natasha A Amour of Leonora Secondary, Region Three, Ronita Trisia Patterson of Mackenzie High, Region 10 and Michelle Fisher of North-West Secondary, Region One.

For the National Grade Nine Poetry-Writing Competition, 2003 Lien Trophies-School Prizes Richard Ishmael Secondary copped first prize, second prize was awarded to Cotton field Secondary and Leonora Secondary chalked up third prize.

The best performers at CSEC 2003 for Pilot Schools are Vryman's Erven Secondary-Yonette Wilson, L'Aventure Secondary-Rushanna Layne, Belladrum Secondary-Jermaine Morrison, Cotton Field Secondary-Ishan Bacchus, Tucville Secondary-Latoya Edinborough, Mackenzie High-Deon Anderson, New Campbelville Secondary-Chaitmala Persaud, Annandale Secondary-Collis October, Dolphin Secondary-Nazamuddin Bacchus and Uitvlugt Secondary-Keiza Gordon.

The Best Overall performer at CSEC, 2003 was awarded to Deon Anderson of Mackenzie High School.

The prize for the School with the Most Improved Performance Score was won by Annandale Secondary School in which $25,000 cash was presented to Kalowti Singh, Headmistress.

The Buxton Community High School and the Aurora Secondary School was presented with brand new computer systems to improve its management.

The theme of the Secondary School Reform Project (SSRP), Ministry of Education 6th and final Annual Award Ceremony was "Celebrating the Development of Secondary Education".

Pix 1Caption: The awardees of the Ministry of Education, Secondary School Reform Project yesterday with their trophies.

Pix 2 Caption: Best Overall Performer at CSEC 2003, Deon Anderson posing with his trophies.