National cricket trials…
Percival joins ton club, McGarrell bags hat-trick
Guyana Chronicle
November 22, 2003

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

ANDRE Percival became the third batsman to register an unbeaten hundred, while Neil McGarrell bagged a hat-trick as the first National Trial closed at the GCC ground, Bourda, yesterday.

The second trial is fixed for next week, from Tuesday to Friday at the same venue. The Guyana Cricket Board has named 30 players.

At the close of play yesterday, Neil McGarrell’s XI had reached 232 for two in 58 overs, still behind the total of 336 for six made by Nagamootoo’s side.

Starting the day on 283 for one, Nagamootoo’s side lost some quick wickets, Homchand Pooran only added one to his overnight score while Travis Dowlin added five, carrying their scores to five and 56 respectively and the score to 299 for three.

Lennox Cush then came in and along with wicketkeeper Azib Ali Hanif carried the score to 319 before Neil McGarrell with his right-arm off-spin, went on a bowling spree to grab the wicket of Cush (14) Zaheer Mohamed (0) and B. Stephney (0) picking up figures of three wickets for 31 runs from 14 overs.

When Nagamootoo’s side declared they were 336 for six from 124 overs, five overs before lunch.

After lunch Neil McGarrell’s XI continued from 24 without loss to carry the score to 56 before Azeemul Haniff lost his wicket for 28 to Rayon Thomas. Narsingh Deonarine then retired for four while Troy Cornelius and opener Ryan Ramdass carried the score to 94 before Ramdass fell for 33 to Eion Katchay.

Percival, who has been in the National side since 1991, then the youngest player at the age of 16, joined Cornelius and the duo carried the score from 94 to 232, adding an unbeaten 138 for the third wicket partnership.

Percival, who successfully captained Guyana’s U-19 team from 1992 to 1994, made 102 runs not-out which was decorated with ten fours and six sixes. The 28-year-old batsman who can bowl, like the two previous centurions Chattergoon and Arjune, was given a chance when he was dropped on 20 by Stephney off his own bowling.

After the match Percival who has been playing for Cheir County Cricket Club in England for several years, told Chronicle Sport that he still had a glimmer of hope to make the West Indies side.

“Ridley Jacobs among others made it into the senior side late in his cricketing life. This clearly shows that the West Indies is looking for talent more than age, so there is a possibility that I can make it into the side, and that is what I am hoping to do,” Percival said. In 1995 he captained the West Indies U-19 team.

The following players are requested to report at the GCC ground Bourda for the next trial match that begins on Tuesday.

Team one: N. McGarrell (captain), S. Chattergoon, R. Ramdass, T. Cornelius, T. Dowlin, A. Percival, D Daesrat, V. Nagamootoo (wicketkeeper), I. Jafferally, Z. Mohamed, B. Stephney, R. Griffith, Q. Maltay, E. Katchay and P. Mahadeo.

Team two: M. Nagamootoo (captain), A. Haniff, K. Arjune, L. Cush, L. Johnson, H. Pooran, A. Fudadin, T. Tull (wicketkeeper), L. Persaud, Z. Khan, H. Harrinarine, S. Drepaul, R. Thomas, T. Garraway, and E. Crandon.

Umpires are C. Duncan and E. Nicholls.


K. Arjune retired 103

S. Chattergoon retired 100

A. Fudadin c Daesrat b Johnson 24

T. Dowlin c Khan b Griffith 56

H. Pooran lbw Garraway 5

L. Cush c Harrinarine b McGarrell 14

A.A. Hanif not out 19

Z. Mohamed lbw McGarrell 0

B. Stephney lbw McGarrell 0

E. Katchay not out 11

Extras: (b-1, lb-1, nb-2) 6

Total: (for six wickets 124 overs) 336

Fall of wickets: (265, 284, 299, 319, 319, 319).

Bowling: R. Griffith 18-7-27-1, T. Garraway 20-1-76-1 (nb-2), D. Daersath 18-6-27-0, H. Harrinarine 16-2-48-0, L. Persaud 15-3-59-0, N. McGarrell 14-5-31-3, Z. Khan 11-3-29-0, L. Johnson 10-2-28-1, N. Deonarine 7-3-9-0.

N. MCGARRELL’s XI innings

R. Ramdass lbw Katchay 33

A. Haniff c Stephney b Thomas 28

N. Deonarine retired 4

T. Cornelius not out 38

A. Percival not out 102

Extras: (b-9, lb-1, nb-15, w-7) 32

Total: (for two wickets 58 overs) 232

Fall of wickets: 1-56, 2-94.

Bowling: E. Crandon 6-1-11-0 (nb-4, w-1), R. Thomas 9-1-35-1 (nb-10, w-1), E. Katchay 8-2-30-1, B. Stephney 15-7-32-1 (nb-1), Z. Mohamed 5-0-26-0, I. Jafferally 9-2-27-0, S. Chattergoon 1-0-6-0, M. Nagamootoo 5-0-44-0, L. Cush 5-2-11-0.