Sixteen teams for CWC 2007
Guyana Chronicle
November 1, 2003

Related Links: Articles on World Cup 2007
Letters Menu Archival Menu

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, (CMC) - A format that places 16 teams into four groups of four has been agreed by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2007 in the West Indies.

Further investigations and consultations will now take place before the most effective format for the tournament beyond the group stage is agreed.

The last World Cup in South Africa earlier this year had 14 teams.

“While the ICC Executive Board agreed to expand the CWC 2007 to 16 teams, there was considerable discussion about the format beyond the group stage,” Malcolm Speed, chief executive of the ICC, told a news conference yesterday.

“The ICC Executive Board meeting considered the request from its commercial partner, Global Cricket Corporation, to play more games than the originally proposed 42 matches,” he added.

Speed indicated the ICC Executive Board considered several alternatives that could be used, including a Super Eight structure of two groups of four, a full round robin format or a modified round-robin format.

“Given the complex logistics associated with holding this event in the West Indies, there is a need to further analyse the impact of these formats,” he said.

“Issues such as travel and accommodation arrangements for teams, media and spectators; the number of venues required; and the demands on venues for cricketing facilities such as the number of pitches will be discussed with stakeholders before this issue is considered again.”

The CWC 2007 will be the ninth edition of the competition that West Indies has twice won -- the inaugural edition in 1975 and the second instalment four years later.