ICC Executive Board meets in Barbados tomorrow

Guyana Chronicle
October 28, 2003

Related Links: Articles on World Cup 2007
Letters Menu Archival Menu

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, (CMC) - A proposal to introduce a new international tours cancellation protocol and the recognition of player associations will head the agenda when the International Cricket Council (ICC) executive board meets in Barbados tomorrow.

The following day the Board of the ICC’s commercial arm, ICC Development (International) Ltd (IDI), will discuss the format for the Cricket World Cup 2007 and receive an update on the current claim lodged by the ICC’s commercial partner, Global Cricket Corporation (GCC).

It will also discuss a request by the Board of Control for Cricket in India for the release of its entire World Cup 2003 dividend of US$6.5 million.

Along with the ICC’s other 36 full and associate member countries, India had money withheld following the CWC 2003, due to concerns about the prospect of GCC making a claim against the ICC arising from the competition.

As well as the set amounts withheld from all members, additional money is being retained from England, India and New Zealand pending resolution of the claim.

The meetings will take place at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion on the Barbados west coast.

The ICC executive board and the board of directors of IDI comprise the presidents and chairmen of the ICC’s 10 full-member countries, plus three representatives from associate member countries. They are the key policy bodies for international cricket.

ICC Executive Board Attendees

ICC President -- Ehsan Mani

ICC Chief Executive -- Malcolm Speed

Full Members

Australia -- Bob Merriman

Bangladesh -- Mohammad Ali Asghar

England -- David Morgan

India -- Jagmohan Dalmiya

New Zealand -- Martin Snedden

Pakistan -- Lt. Gen. Tauqir Zia

Sri Lanka -- Thilanga Sumathipala

South Africa -- Percy Sonn

West Indies -- Teddy Griffith

Zimbabwe -- Justice Ahmed Ebrahim

Associate Members

Malaysia -- His Royal Highness Tunku Imran

Kenya -- Jimmy Rayani

Holland -- Rene Van Ierschot