Chanderpaul should captain the Red Stripe Bowl squad
… says Vemen Walter

Guyana Chronicle
September 23, 2003

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

WITH the completion of the El Dorado Senior Inter-County 50-Over cricket tournament, Guyana cricket selectors, under the chairmanship of former West Indies Test player Joe Solomon, are expected to shortly announce the Guyana 14-man squad for the upcoming Red Stripe Bowl tournament.

The selectors should not have much of a hard time, maybe except in the fast bowling department, which seems to be wanting at the moment especially with the poor showing of the pacemen in the just concluded inter-county tournament.

Sewnarine Chattergoon, Krishna Arjune and Ryan Ramdass should certainly be the three openers on tour judging from their performances recently.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Narsingh Deonarine are all automatic choices in the middle order and with no word on the availability of Carl Hooper, the other middle order slots should go to the hard-hitting Lennox Cush and the very capable Travis Dowlin.

Of course Vishal Nagamootoo is the first choice wicketkeeper and should hold on to his place like spinning all-rounders Mahendra Nagamootoo and Neil McGarrell.

With three other spots remaining, the selectors should take another spinner in left-arm spinner Hemnarian Harrinarian who has, over the years, performed creditably in inter-county cricket and his outstanding performance again this year makes him a certainty especially since the fast bowlers seem not to be up to scratch.

That leaves the squad with just two fast bowlers. Reon Griffith and Rayon Thomas should be the two men to do the job since the other main contender Esuan Crandon looked very ordinary.

In terms of the captaincy, Sarwan and Chanderpaul are the two main contenders and many are of the view that because of Sarwan’s vice-captaincy of the West Indies team he should be made captain of Guyana.

But looking at Sarwan in the Inter-county matches and his present form with the bat, it would be better to allow the young man to concentrate mainly on his batting since he needs to be in tip-top shape for upcoming West Indies engagements and as such the more experienced Chanderpaul should be named as captain.

The Guyana Fourteen should therefore read: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (capt.), Ramnaresh Sarwan (v-capt.), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Krishna Arjune, Ryan Ramdass, Narsingh Deonarine, Lennox Cush, Travis Dowlin, Vishal Nagamootoo, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Neil McGarrell, Hemnarian Harrinarian, Reon Griffith and Rayon Thomas.

Site Meter