Laurie Lewis named chairman of new NSC
Guyana Chronicle
July 5, 2003

Related Links: Articles on sports
Letters Menu Archival Menu

THIRTEEN names of the 16-member newly constituted National Sports Commission (NSC) were released by the Ministry of Culture, Youth & Sport yesterday.

Former Commissioner of Police Laurie Lewis was named chairman, with members Chetram Singh, Aubrey Major, Dr Monica Benn, Lt Col. Francis Abraham, Lennox Shuffler, K. Juman-Yassin, Dianne Ferreira-James, S.K. Singh and Godwin McPherson.

While the foregoing names were simply labelled as members, Juman-Yassin qualified as the Guyana Olympic Association representative and McPherson as the representative of People’s National Congress/Reform.

The representative of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic is yet to be named.

Three of five ex-officio members were also announced. They are Director of Sport Neil Kumar, Stephanie Fraser as the representative of Women & Sports Committee and Adviser to the Minister of Sport on Cricket, Clyde Butts.

A representative of the Ministry of Education is yet to be named, along with a representative of the Guyana Paralympic Committee.

The new members of the NSC will be installed next Friday by Minister Gail Teixeira.

In releasing the names of the NSC, the Ministry of Culture, Youth & Sport noted: “Although some news articles have appeared recently with names of persons purported to be members of the National Sports Commission, the information given was not acquired from official sources. Consequently, these conveyed inaccuracies and misinformed the public.”

Articles in another section of the media offered names of the new NSC, while Chronicle Sport named only the new chairman, as given by the Director of Sport Neil Kumar after he announced that the NSC was constituted.