Four women named to National Sports Commission

Stabroek News
June 29, 2003

Related Links: Articles on sports
Letters Menu Archival Menu

Four women have been named to the new national Sports Commission which is being headed by retired Commissioner of Police Laurie Lewis.

The women are FIFA referee and national women’s cricket captain Dianne Ferreira-James, physiotherapist Dr Monica Benn, former secretary of the AAA Carmen Pertab and Women in Sports member Stefanie Fraser.

Former Commissioner of Police Laurie Lewis has been appointed chairman.

The other members are Chetram Singh president of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) and a front runner for the post of West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) head, K. Juman-Yassin, president of the Guyana Amateur Boxing Association (GABA) and the Guyana Olympic Association (GOA), Yale Holder president of the Guyana Amateur Body Building Federation (GABBF), Lieutenant Colonel Francis Abraham Protocol Adviser in the Office of the President and former vice-president of the Guyana Amateur Basketball Association, Neil Kumar, Director of Sports and Lennie Shuffler president of of the Guyana Volleyball Federation.

These members have been appointed for a period of two years by the Minister of Culture Youth & Sports Gail Teixeira.

The NSC has been defunct for several years and the naming of these members is seen as a first step to revitalizing the commission.

Lewis, is a former president of the Guyana Amateur Boxing Association and served on the previous commission.

The life of the National Sports Commission (NSC) ended on July 31, 2000 and since then no new members were appointed or re-appointed by Minister Teixeira who has that responsibility. Lewis replaces Conrad Plummer who was appointed to the post in August 1999.

Site Meter