Judicial, police commissions nominees approved by Parliament

Stabroek News
June 27, 2003

Related Links: Articles on politics
Letters Menu Archival Menu

The National Assembly yesterday unanimously approved the report of the Appointive Committee on its recommendations for the persons to be nominated as members of the Judicial and Police service commissions following consultations with the identified organisations and associations.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport, Gail Teixeira who chairs the committee, moved the motions seeking the Assembly’s approval and PNCR opposition front-bencher Clarissa Riehl seconded them.

Following consultations with the Guyana and Berbice Bar Associations and the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers the committee has recommended Brynmor Pollard CCH, SC as its choice to be the appointed member of the Judicial Service Commission in accordance with Article 198(2)(b) of the Constitution.

The other members of the Commission are the Chancellor of the Judiciary, the Chief Justice, the Chairman of the Public Service Commission and another member to be appointed by the President after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition from among persons who hold or have held office as a judge of a court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in some part of the Commonwealth or a court having jurisdiction in appeals from and such court in accordance with Article 198(2)(a).

With respect to the Police Service Commission the committee has recommended retired Deputy Commis- sioners of Police, Henry Chester and Ivan Crandon, and retired Assistant Commissioners of Police, Harold Martin and Duncan Clarke to be appointed as members in accordance with Article 210(1) (C).

The President also appoints the chairman of the commission after consultations with the Leader of the Opposition in accordance with Article 210(1)(a). He also appoints, according to Article 210(1)(d), not more than three members in addition to the appointed members named above after consulting with the Leader of the Opposition.

The committee has made no report about its nominee to the Public Service Commis-sion, as Stabroek News understands that it has yet to determine the organisations to be included in its consultations about the persons to be nominated.

Before the constitution was amended, the President was required to consult with the Guyana Public Service Union and the Federated Union of Government Employees (FUGE). When the motion identifying the organisations to be included in the committee’s consultations was first presented, FUGE was not named and the Public Service Senior Staff Association was included. However, during the debate on the motion, the clause identifying the organisation was deleted and the committee was left to determine the organisations with which it would consult.

Site Meter