FIFA referee is captain of national women’s cricket team

Stabroek News
June 10, 2003

Related Links: Articles on women's cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

FIFA referee Dianne Ferreira James will captain Guyana’s women’s cricket team for this year’s West Indies Women’s Cricket Tournament which gets underway in Grenada on Friday.

According to a Guyana Cricket Board release, James will lead Guyana’s 16-member team to the championship which concludes on June 26 in the `Isle of Spice’.

The others selected by the Guyana Women’s Cricket Association are; Candacy Atkins (vice captain) Tracy Miller, Tracy Glasgow, Annabelle Lewis, Indomattie Goordial, Michelle Fitzalbert, Abena Parker, Sabrina Munroe, Davanie Sewnarine, Natasha Gangoo, Onica Wallerson, June Ogle and Faye Franklyn.

The team will be managed by Angela Haniff, while Vibert Johnson has been named as the team’s coach.

There are four standby players in; Joann Vansertima, Zaheed Samadally, Reneka Issacs and Althea Newark.

Site Meter