Lowe carts off three titles as NSC TT climaxes

Stabroek News
June 9, 2003

Related Links: Articles on table tennis
Letters Menu Archival Menu

The National Sports Commission sponsored table tennis competition concluded recently with the finals in a number of categories at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall on Thursday.

In the menís singles final Matthew Khan defeated Christopher Franklin (4-0) 11-6, 11-5, 12-10, 12-10. Franklyn raced through the first three games but the final game was easily the best as both players looped and counter-looped with a great degree of consistency much to the appreciation of the small crowd on hand.

Third place went to Paul Meusa who beat Andrew Daly (4 -1).

The womenís singles was won by Trenace Lowe who defeated Michelle John (3-1), 11-9, 13-11, 10-12, 11-9 in another exciting encounter. Delicia Cummings defeated Rhonda Farley 3-2 for third place.

The `Bí Class division was won by veteran Donald Duff who defeated Micheal John in straight games 11-7, 11-9, 11-9. Third place went to Micheal Waithe who got the better of the much improved Shaka Forde.

In the `Cí class open Micheal John defeated Zach Gonsalves (3-1), 9-11, 11-8, 11-5, 12-10. Third place went to Marlon Joseph.

Zach Gonsalves won the boys under-17 division defeating Micheal John (3-2) 9-11, 6-11, 11-6, 11-4, 11-6.

The girls under-17 final was won by Michelle John who defeated Trenace Lowe (3-2), 9-11, 11-9, 2-11, 12-10, 11-9. Third place went to Delicia Cummings.

The boys under-15 title went to Zach Gonsalves who defeated Colwyn Leitch (3-1), 11-6, 5-11, 11-5, 14-12. Third place went to Anthony Niles.

Lowe took home the girls under-15 trophy when she defeated Varsha Panday (3-1), 9-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-8 in the final. Third place went to Cummings.

The under-13 boys division was won by Joslyn Crawford who defeated Keon Hestick (3-1), 11-4, 10-12, 11-5, 11-8. Third went to Steffon Kellman.

Lowe also won the girls under-13 final defeating Varsha Panday (3-0), 11-9, 11-5, 11-5. Third was Tiffany Blair.

The boys under-11 round robin involving three players was won by Zane Rogers. Second and third place went to Hestick and Carlos Oxford respectively.

In the girlís under-11 final Tiffany Blair defeated Ambrose Thomas (3-0), 11-6, 11-3, 12-10. Third went to Geneanne Kellman.

The boys under-9 final was won by Zane Rogers who defeated Shaquil Williams (3-0), 11-6, 11-3, 13-11.

In the final of the girls under-9 Adielle Rosheuvel defeated Britnee Prescod (3-1), 11-5, 11-6, 8-11, 11-5.

The presentation of prizes and trophies was held after the finals.

Site Meter