McGarrell to skipper Guyana
-18-man squad to be named today
By Sean Devers
Stabroek News
December 13, 2002

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

Left-arm spinner Neil McGarrell was yesterday appointed captain of the Guyana cricket team to participate in the 2003 regional first class competition which starts on January 31.

While McGarrell, who is among 30 players shortlisted by the West Indies selectors for the 2003 World Cup in South Africa, has been confirmed as the captain, the three-man Guyana selection panel will name the other 17 players in the squad this afternoon.

It is understood that the panel, headed by chairman Joe Solomon, came up with 23 names yesterday and was given an extra day by the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) to come up with an 18-man squad which is expected to begin to training next week.

Guyana take on Trinidad and Tobago in South Trinidad in their first round game and the final 13 man squad should be selected by the second week in January.

The West Indies youth selectors will pick the West Indies ‘B’ team which will be made up of under-23 players.

This team is expected to be picked early next year after the West Indies World Cup 15-man squad is announced by December 31.

Meanwhile, Ricardo Mohamed and Krishna Arjune hit half-centuries while all rounder Damadar Daesrath registered a rare hat trick as Andre Percival’s X1 beat Neil McGarell’s X1 by 14 runs when the 45 overs per side final national cricket trial match ended at Everest yesterday.

Percival’s X1 made 205-8 off their allotted 45 overs and then bowled out McGarell’s X1 for 191 in 44 overs.

Mohamed hit four fours from 54 balls in 53 and along with Gonsalves who reached the boundary seven times in his 43, added 84 for the second wicket after Azeemul Haniff was bowled by Naresh Roopnarine for one with the score on six.

Mohamed and Lennox Cush (32) then put together 29 for the third wicket to move the score from 90-2 to 119-3 while Cush and Hoomchand Pooran (23) added 28 more runs for the fourth wicket before Cush was sent back by McGarell at 147-4.

Troy Cornelius ended unbeaten on 20 from 22 balls with three fours as Vishal

Arjune picked up 2-25 with his off-spin.

Krishna Arjune who retired on 53 and then returned to be last out without adding to that score, got support from his younger brother Vishal who made 39.

McGarell was not out on 32 while Denish Joseph hit 27 as Daesrath ended the match with three wickets from three balls on his way to figures of 4-32.

Daesrath clean bowled Roopnarine and Colin Stuart before have Krishna Arjune caught at cover to finish the game with a hat trick.

Left-arm spinner Hemnarine Harrinarine supported with 2-49 as the last three wickets tumbled at 188.

Site Meter