Deosarran voted Cricketer-of-the-Year

Guyana Chronicle
December 17, 2002

Related Links: Articles on cricket
Letters Menu Archival Menu

NATIONAL Under-15 player, Krishna Deosarran was voted Lusignan Sports Club Cricketer-of-the-Year and added several other prizes to his bulging collection when the club held its annual awards ceremony at the Lusignan Community Centre last Saturday.

Deosarran, who toured England with the National Under-15 team, was also adjudged the Most Disciplined Player on both that tour and during the regional Under-15 tournament, staged in Trinidad and Tobago. He received special prizes from manager of the National Under-15 team, S.K. Singh.

Deosarranís Cricketer-of-the-Year award was donated by the Trophy Stall of Bourda Market.

The teenager received other prizes for being the Most Valuable Under-15 Player sponsored by Vista Trading; the Most Valuable Under-19 Player, sponsored by Patsan Trading Company; the Best Batsman in the Under-15 competition, run by the East Coast Cricket Association - donated by Paul Chan-A-Sue; and the Best Batsman in the Evís 40-over competition - sponsored by Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) vice-president, Anand Sanasie.

Deosarran also received special prizes, compliments of International Business Establishment (IBE) and S. Samlall, for making the National Under-15 team.

The Best Bowler award for the Under-15s went to S. Samlal who took the H.N Toney Trading trophy; the Best Batsman among the Under-19s to Hera Jailall who took the Mon Repos/Le Ressouvenir NDC-sponsored trophy and the Best Under-19 bowler to Andrew Jairam who won the Raj Singh Insurance Brokers trophy.

In the Evís 40-over, the Most Valuable Player was Shivnarine Budhu who won the Patsan Trading trophy. Budhu was also Best Bowler, copping the Gopaul Singh Variety Store trophy.

The Best Batsman in the Hand-in-Hand Intermediate competition was Hardeo Sattaur who took the Tennesee International Trophy while the Best Bowler prize went to Andrew Jairam who won the Patsan Trading Company trophy.

S. Samlall was the recipient of a special prize for taking seven wickets in a match, including a hat-trick.

Among those present at Saturdayís awards ceremony were Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) president Chetram Singh, president of the East Coast Cricket Association S. K. Singh, vice-president of the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) Anand Sanasie, assistant secretary Jeff Singh, and the vice-chairman of the Mon Repos Le Ressouvenir NDC.

Site Meter