Racing fraternity bids farewell to Naraine
Guyana Chronicle
October 3, 2002

Related Links: Articles on car racing
Letters Menu Archival Menu

THE motor racing fraternity bade farewell to the late National champion Gavin Naraine with a final Lap of Honour at the South Dakota Circuit, Timehri, yesterday.

At 09:53 hrs, president of the Guyana Motor Racing & Sports Club, Stanley Ming, gave the signal for a minute’s silence.

Then at 09:55 hrs the Lap of Honour moved off, led by the hearse bearing the remains of the late driver, followed by his Mazda RX machine still bearing the unforgettable number 61.

Naraine’s championship trophy was placed on the top of the vehicle, the familiar chequered flag fluttered proudly from the driver’s side of the left hand drive blue and white Mazda.

An enlarged photograph of the champion attired in his blue racing suit was placed on the front windscreen and garlanded.

The racer’s support team were in the tow vehicle, a black Toyota pickup, GEE 71, the sides of the tray emblazoned with the simple but significant message, “In Loving Memory of GAVIN NARAINE.” A similar message adorned the left front bonnet of the racing machine.

After the Lap of Honour, all the racing machines present, revved their engines for several minutes.

Racing cars present were: racing ace Andrew King’s black and yellow Mazda, number 11, Kevin Jeffrey’s white and green Mazda (161), Ernest Siebs Jnr’s white Mini (28), Peter Morgan’s white Ford Escort (70), Andrew Morgan’s blue Toyota Starlite (23) and Rupie Shewjattan’s white and green Toyota Starlite (53).

However, mechanic Lakeram Dukhram, well-known as Linco, had several tries to start number 61. After some oil was added, the engine fired to life in the fifth attempt.

The hearse then left with the body for the airport, but the flight was until after 15:00 hrs and many persons remained at the circuit until that hour.

That observance at the circuit climaxed a long procession of vehicles that moved off from the National Cultural Centre tarmac, just after 08:00 hrs. (Isaiah Chappelle)