Sub-committee to put up proposals for CRC report consideration

Stabroek News
August 22, 1999

The Special Select Committee will meet again on Wednesday to continue its discussions on the methodology it will use in the effort to complete its consideration of the Constitution Reform Commission's (CRC) report by October 31.

Stabroek News understands that when the committee met on Friday, it decided a set up a sub-committee which would put up proposals identifying the various tasks and setting suggested deadlines by which they should be completed.

The sources said that among the procedures being contemplated is one dealing with the recommendations related to the Elections Commission, which the all-party sub-committee had agreed would be given priority.

They say that it is likely that the committee would seek to have the National Assembly approve the Constitution Reform Commission's recommendations on the composition of the Elections Commission. This would allow the necessary amendment to be made to the Constitution and the amended article would then be incorporated into the reformed constitution.

The sources say too that the thinking on the committee would also like to see those of the commission's recommendations which are in implementable form sent to the National Assembly for approval so that the constitutional draughtsmen could begin their work even before October 31.

They say too that if this procedure is accepted all that would be left to be submitted by October 31, are those issues on which there had not been agreement on the commission and had been referred to the National Assembly.

The 11-member Special Select Committee is chaired by Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Reepu Daman Persaud, and its other members are Bernard DeSantos, Home Affairs Minister, Ronald Gajraj, Parliamentary Secretary, Philomena Sahoye-Shury; Feroze Mohamed and Eddi Rodney for the PPP/Civic; Winston Murray, Lance Carberry and Raphael Trotman for the PNC and Dr Rupert Roopnaraine and Manzoor Nadir representing the Alliance for Guyana and The United Force respectively.

A © page from:
Guyana: Land of Six Peoples