Hooper to lead Guyana in Busta Cup
... selectors forced to name squad without trials

Guyana Chronicle
December 25, 1999

RETIRED West Indies batsman Carl Hooper has been named captain of the Guyana team for the 2000 Busta Cup regional cricket tournament.

According to a release from the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Hooper, who is scheduled to return from Australia on January 3, will lead the team in their first game against Barbados at Kensington Oval January 7-10.

The national selectors have also included stylish middle-order batsman Keith Semple in their squad for the first two games. Semple is recovering from a minor injury which kept him out of action for over a month, but is expected to be fit and ready for the Barbados encounter.

West Indies players Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Reon King are expected back from New Zealand after the first two games and would be eligible for selection. Sixteen-year-old Narsingh Deonarine would also be eligible for selection after returning from the Youth World Cup in Sri Lanka with the West Indies Under-19 team.

The squad arrived at was the first selected without a trial match (rained out) and was chosen largely on performances during local competitions and the India `A' tour.

The players selected are; Carl Hooper, Nicholas de Groot, Azeemul Haniff, Keith Semple, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Travis Dowlin, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Neil McGarrell, Vishal Nagamootoo, Colin Stuart, Kevin Darlington, Garvin Nedd and Zaheer Haniff.

The reserves are: Andre Percival, Homchand Pooran, Ricardo Mohamed, Andrew Gonsalves and Azib Ali Hanif. (Donovan Matthews)

A © page from:
Guyana: Land of Six Peoples