BCCDA head to work for country's development

Guyana Chronicle
May 2, 2000

NEW President of the Berbice Chamber of Commerce and Development Association, Mr Ramdial Bhookmohan has pledged to work together with other social partners and the Government for the development of the country.

Bhookmohan, who was elected to the presidency at the body's Annual General Meeting last week, said a critical area of concentration is investment, and he emphasied the importance of the partnership working in unity in this respect.

"Both local and foreign investments are priorities for Guyana's development, without which, the economy will not improve. And this will result in unemployment, less money in circulation, and disarray in civil society," the BCCDA head said.

He further stated that every encouragement and assistance should be given the social partners, including, trade unions, the private and public sectors, and other non-governmental bodies concerned about the development of the nation.

"Guyana needs its people, and the people need Guyana," Bhookmohan noted while outlining a number of initiatives for the fiscal year 2000 to 2001.

Among plans for his term is a monthly local television `call in' programme to deal with business and developmental issues of Region six.

Others are a strong membership drive and training activities to help businesses improve their quality of service.

Bhookmohan reiterated an earlier call for the replacement of the New Amsterdam Town Council with an Interim Management Committee.

He said recent developments involving the Mayor and the law have raised serious concerns over the level of leadership the municipality is subjected to.

"This type of behaviour has gone way beyond expectations and some drastic action should be taken to protect the noble office," remarked Bhookmohan, who is also Vice Chairman of the Private Sector Commission.

The new executive comprises Mr Mohamed Raffik, Senior Vice President; Mr Balram Persaud, Junior Vice President; Mr Errol Azzar, Secretary; and Mr Dilip Singh, Treasurer.

Ten Councillors were also elected.

A luncheon is scheduled for June. (CALVIN MARSHALL